Read our latest news including judicial speeches, consultations and consultation responses. 

Published speeches reflect the individual judicial office holder's personal views, unless otherwise stated.


New Sheriffs Appointed to the Sheriff Appeal Court


Dec 21, 2023

Sheriffs Christopher Shead, Derek O’Carroll, Gregor Murray and Philip Mann have been appointed as appeal sheriffs by the Lord President, Lord Carloway.  These appointments are effective from 15 January 2024.

Sheriff Principal Anwar, President of the Sheriff Appeal Court, said: “I wish to congratulate those who have been appointed.  I look forward to working with them.  Their wealth of legal knowledge and shrieval experience will serve them well as they take on the important work of the Sheriff Appeal Court.”