The Sheriffs and Summary Sheriffs Association represents, safeguards and promotes the interests and welfare of Scottish sheriffs and summary sheriffs, and considers matters connected with the law and the administration of justice in Scotland. The Association represents sheriffs and summary sheriffs in dealings with the Scottish Government, the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service, the Judicial Office for Scotland, the Crown Office & Procurator Fiscal Service and a wide range of other bodies.

Judicial Independence

It makes representations and provides responses on proposed changes to the law and administration of justice, particularly those affecting the judiciary, while continuing to uphold judicial independence.


The Association appoints or nominates members to serve on other bodies, including the Judicial Council for Scotland, and nominates members to attend important national and international conferences and meetings.


The affairs of the Association are managed by a council of 12 members, including three officer bearers, and elections are held annually.

The current officer bearers are:

  • President Sheriff Wendy Sheehan
  • Vice President Sheriff Pino Di Emidio
  • Secretary Sheriff Tony Kelly.

You can contact the Association by writing to Sheriff Kelly, Glasgow Sheriff Court, 1 Carlton Place, Glasgow G5 9TW.



Wendy Sheehan was elected President of the Association in 2021. She is based at Edinburgh Sheriff Court.

Read more



Sheriff Pino DiEmedio .jpg resized

Vice President

Pino Di Emidio was elected Vice President of the Association in 2021. He is based in the Tayside, Central & Fife Sheriffdom.

Read more