The Advisory Council advises the Board of the Institute on any aspect of its remit and the Board must consider any advice it receives from the Council in fulfilling its remit.

The Council meets twice each year to consider annual reports, business plans and other similar strategic documents. The Chairman, the Director and the Deputy Director also report on their work.


The members of the Council are:

The Rt Hon Lord Carloway 
President of the Judicial Institute for Scotland, Lord President of the Court of Session, Senator of the College of Justice

The Hon Lord Armstrong

Chairman, Senator of the College of Justice

The Hon Lord Beckett

Vice Chairman, Senator of the College of Justice

Anne Scott

President of the Tax and of the Social Security chambers of the First-tier Tribunal for Scotland

Sheriff Susan Craig
Interim Director, Judicial Institute for Scotland

Sheriff Principal Aisha Anwar
Sheriff Principal of South Strathclyde, Dumfries and Galloway

Sheriff Pino Di Emidio
Tayside, Central and Fife

Sheriff Lorna Drummond 
Tayside, Central and Fife

Summary Sheriff Peter McCormack

Part-time Sheriff Gerard Sinclair

Justice Susan Stokeld

Justice Stuart Fair 
Tayside, Central and Fife

Judge Shona Simon
President, Employment Tribunals (Scotland)

Neil Rennick
Director of Justice, Scottish Government

Dr Caroline Bruce
Principal Educator, NHS Education for Scotland